Shhhh….We’re Trying to Raise Money Here: Meet the Silent Auction Committee

Through the generosity of local businesses our Silent Auction Committee is able to put together an extraordinary selection of items and experience packages for our guests to bid upon. 

Rebecca Gordon

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I learned about Children of Bellevue from my dear friend, Helen Madeo Niblock.  She invited me to attend the benefit – which was held at Gotham Hall (where my husband and I got married) in 2010.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? In the fall of 2010, I was asked to join the Toast committee by my friends Helen Niblock, Helen Stephan, and Katie Freeborn. I was eager to assist with both invitations and silent auction. After the 2011 Toast, I was honored when Helen Stephan and Judy Keating thought I would be a great chair for the Silent Auction. Over the last year, I have spent many hours researching and strategizing ways to find new sources for the silent auction. I can only hope that we are successful as we were in 2011!
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? I love Ippudo.  I am obsessed with the pork buns, cucumber with yuzu salt, and classic ramen (hold the ginger). Nothing is better than warm ramen on a cold day.
  4. Michael Jackson or Elvis?  Michael.  First concert I ever saw was the “Thriller” tour when I was 5 in Miami.

Elizabeth Keizner

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? My good friend Rebecca Gordon told me about Toast to the Children last year, and spoke movingly about her commitment to the organization and why she was drawn to support it. After I attended last year’s Toast event, Rebecca invited me to be a part of the planning committee, and I was honored to accept.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? I’ve been helping with the auction, and working to find donations.  So far I’ve been able to secure two, and am working on many others. Getting people to send in their forms requires a lot of friendly follow-up!
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? My favorite NYC restaurant is Angelica Kitchen in the East Village. It’s a vegan restaurant in my neighborhood, and my husband I tried it out of curiosity a year ago and now eat there once a week.  It’s easy to imagine vegan food would just be boring brown rice and sad tofu (at least, that’s what I pictured) but it’s incredibly delicious and creative, and I always get dessert.
  4. What’s an item on your bucket list? I’d love to attend the Oscars while wearing a killer dress.

Erin Canavan

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? Through working on opposite sides of a deal negotiation with Jessica Vartanian Kreider, I had the opportunity to get to know her and learn about Children of Bellevue and the event. Not only was I excited about the event and what it represents, I also welcomed the chance to work with her again.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? I am on the Silent Auction Committee so my main focus is on contacting businesses to donate and trying to come up with creative auction items, but I am also looking out for other opportunities to contribute where I can – and of course telling everyone I meet what a spectacular event this will be.
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation?  I’ve only lived in the city for a year, but Balthazar has a special place in my heart as it is where I went on my first night in the city.  And Marie’s Crisis for singing show-tunes with a bunch of strangers.
  4. What’s a song on the soundtrack of your life?  Bon Jovi, Livin’ on a Prayer. I was obsessed with it.

 

Alishka Ostrander

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I’m a social worker here at Bellevue in the Child Protection & Development Center and get to see firsthand how beneficial the Pediatric Programs are for our patients. Toast to the Children is a wonderful event which raises much needed funding so that they can continue. Knowing its importance, I wanted to help.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? I volunteered at the event in 2010 and 2011. Last year was my first time being a part of the planning committee. This year I am also on a committee and specifically working on VIP and gift bag donations.
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? This is a really tough question. I love Becco for dinner and anywhere in the Meatpacking District for drinks or brunch.
  4. Michael Jackson or Elvis? Michael Jackson.

Megan Lyons

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event?  I was invited by Jessica Krieder who I met when we were on the opposite sides of the negotiating table for our respective companies. Despite our different positions, my colleague Erin Canavan (also on the committee). Jessica and I realized we had much more in common than we would have anticipated.  I was thrilled when she asked us to participate in the Toast and have enjoyed getting to know everyone.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success?  I am working on the silent auction committee, assisting with contacting potential local business who can possibly lend support. Additionally, I am reaching out to my personal contacts to assist with auction donations, gift bag items and ticket sales.
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? There are so many to choose from, I love Marc Forgione in Tribeca. Great food in a relaxed environment.
  4. What’s an item on your bucket list? Travel to Antarctica
Leave a Reply

