Who Doesn’t Love a Goodie Bag? Meet the VIP & Gift Bag Committee

Helen Stephan

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? Katie Freeborn asked me to join the Toast to the Children Committee in 2008. She is a dear friend so I thought it would be fun to do something with her and it also provided me with an opportunity to become involved in fundraising in the US, something I had been longing to do. I have had a life long history of fundraising but having moved from Australia and having recently started a family I hadn’t had the opportunity to pursue this passion of mine here in the US. Plus, the fact that we were planning a food and wine event didn’t hurt!
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? This year is my third year as co-chair and this year I am heading up the VIP and Gift Bag Committee.
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? I have had a long love for ‘ino on Bedford as my favorite food is sandwiches and they specialize in paninis. Their food is consistently good and they have an interesting wine list. I also love Mole’ in the Meatpacking District. I love Mexican food and their food and margaritas are fantastic.
  4. Michael Jackson or Elvis? Neither really but if I had to pick one I’d pick a young Michael Jackson.
  5. If you could fill an entire room with something, what would it be? Balloons or bubbles? It would make my kids happy which would make me happy.
  6. What’s an item on your bucket list? To travel to Vietnam 

 

Alishka Ostrander

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I’m a social worker here at Bellevue in the Child Protection & Development Center and get to see firsthand how beneficial the Pediatric Programs are for our patients. Toast to the Children is a wonderful event which raises much needed funding so that they can continue. Knowing its importance, I wanted to help.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? I volunteered at the event in 2010 and 2011. Last year was my first time being a part of the planning committee. This year I am also on a committee and specifically working on VIP and gift bag donations.
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? This is a really tough question. I love Becco for dinner and anywhere in the Meatpacking District for drinks or brunch.
  4. Michael Jackson or Elvis? Michael Jackson.

Alison Lipman

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I got involved in the committee because Ron Longe asked me if I was interested after I had attended the dinner last year and had wonderful things to say about it.
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? I am trying to be useful where I can but letting people know about the event and pitching in to volunteer where/when needed
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? So many wonderful places to choose from…One place that is kinda fun/different that I feel I’m never disappointed is The Bourgeois Pig – it has this sexy back alley in France vibe that I love and the drinks are really fun.
  4. Michael Jackson or Elvis? Michael Jackson
  5. If you could fill an entire room with something, what would it be? Bubbles
  6. What’s a song on the soundtrack of your life? Depends on the minute…
  7. What’s an item on your bucket list? To go on an African safari

Jessica Alberti

  1. Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I went to my first Toast to the Children event at the Mandarin Oriental 6 years ago and LOVED it!  As a foodie I was more than happy to enjoy special dishes from New York’s best restaurants AND to support charity. After spending some time traveling and taking an interest in the wine industry, I contacted Children of Bellevue to see if I could get involved with Toast.  I was given a tour of the Children of Bellevue and was floored at the work being done. The marriage of a wonderful food event and supporting a non-profit that I felt passionately about was a no-brainer- I was in!
  2. What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? I am a bit of a “Girl Friday,” working with the Chairs to ensure the success of Toast!
  3. What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? NYC Bar – The top of The Standard…feels like you are on top of the world in a golden champagne glass – enough said! NYC Restaurant – Spotted Pig – I am a sucker for a good burger and fries…plus it is down the street!
  4. Michael Jackson or Elvis? Michael Jackson – PYT…those were the days!
  5. If you could fill an entire room with something, what would it be? A room full of family & friends who live far away.
  6. Name a song on the soundtrack of your life: You get what you give – the New Radicals
  7. What’s an item on your bucket list? Climb Mt. Kilimanjaro

Leave a Reply

