Getting the Word on the Street: meet the PR/Media Committee

Our event has been a true success year after year for many reasons — especially due to the hard work of the event committees. The members are driven by their passion for the mission of Children of Bellevue Hospital -  and how “Toast to the Children” helps it thrive and makes a difference in the lives of the children in its care.

This week I’d like to introduce you to the PR/Media committee:

 

Ron Longe

Not only is Ron the committee’s Co-Chair, he is one of the biggest foodies around. Working in the publishing industry, Ron helps chefs make their cookbooks wildly successful.

Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I will admit that I first became involved for my love of good food (and to meet Tom Colicchio). However after a tour of the hospital and seeing firsthand all of Bellevue’s valuable programs, I was hooked. I became much more involved not only with Toast (this is my fourth year on the committee), but also by joining the board and volunteering at the hospital as much as I can (I never miss the Gingerbread House event).

What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success? This is my second year as co-chair. I help with PR and marketing and also secured Marcus Samuelsson and the Today Show as 2012 honorees.

What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation? Le Bernardin has been my favorite for the past 4 years; however it was recently usurped by Blue Hill at Stone Barns.

Lindsay Feinberg

Aside from working on the committee, Lindsay is foodie extraordinaire. She even authors a blog called The Lunch Belle.  You’ll be seeing some of her posts on here soon.

Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? I first got involved as media coverage, but after attending the event for two years in a row, I inquired about joining the committee. I had fallen in love with the cause behind the soiree!

What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success?  I am on the PR committee and I’m also contributing to the “Toast” Blog

What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation?  I’m completely into this whole “mixology” phenomenon, so I’d have to say that my favorite bar recommendation would be Hudson Clearwater. In terms of food, I’m a native Texan, so I’m obsessed with Mexican food. That being said, I’m really loving the crispy beef tacos at Florencia 13 right now.

 

 

Kate Forster

After moving to NYC 5 years ago, Kate became a total foodie and quickly learned how to whip up a mean quiche. She knows that she’ll never have the time to cross every Zagat-rated NYC restaurant off her bucket list, but plans to try!

Why did you get involved with the Toast to the Children event? During my career transition to Food PR, I was introduced to Ron through a mutual friend. He suggested that I join the committee for both PR experience and to make some connections in the food world. After recently helping kids at the hospital make Valentine’s Day cards, my main reason for being involved is them! They were all so sweet and somehow under the false impression that I LOVE conversation hearts – I swear they were force-feeding me!

What is your role and how are you personally contributing to the event’s success?  I am helping to manage the social media strategy for the event – mainly this blog. I am also always on the lookout for silent auction items!

What is your favorite NYC bar or restaurant recommendation?  I’m a huge fan of Cafetasia in the East Village. They have amazing appetizers like the Thai Crepes that keep me coming back.  As for bars, there is a great one in my hood (Astoria) named The Sparrow that has a great craft beer selection, amazing pulled pork tacos and is full of interesting (read bizarre) people. Always entertaining!

2 thoughts on “Getting the Word on the Street: meet the PR/Media Committee

  1. Pingback: Joyous Joy 38: Toasting to the Children! | joyousjoys

Leave a Reply

